Serendipity

By EdwardHealey

You learn...

...something new everyday. 

On the way back from Stafford I had to go through Brum , which is not my ideal option but the Stafford to Nuneaton service was cancelled. 

I got on the Leicester train at BHM and thought I got lucky as I found an unreserved seat and space in the luggage rack for Electric Eric, which on this service is no mean feat I can tell you. However, I'd been sat there for a few mins and the chap came along to put the seat reservation tickets out at which point I thought what a pain I'll have to move, or stand if I couldn't find another. 

Well, here's the thing; they put the reservation tickets out well in advance of the train they are intended for and, if you look closely, at the bottom it actually tells you which train. In this case it was for the 1822 to Stanstead and this train was the 1552. Result! I could stay put. 

I shall look at reservation tickets much more closely in future. 

There you go, a boring Blip but, for me, a useful end to the day's travelling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.