madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Groups

Most of the day spent on the allotment as we had an allotment meeting! The first task was feeding the hens - there had been a misunderstanding with the person opening, he thought I was doing the open and clean! Luckily another allotment holder let them out but they were hungry! I put out 3 bowls of food and they fell on them! Not had one of those in years! I went up early to show a new coop member how to deep clean the coop - which meant me doing it as she didn't bring gloves! She did however suggest holes were drilled in the base to allow drainage. Good thinking!There are two long holes  to allow this but as the ground is not level it just pools in the corner! 
I was called away to the meeting which was a humourous event! There are some very sharp witted men and they had a good banter. 
The sheds were a main point of discussion.For "aestehtic" reasons we were not allowed sheds on our plots when the allotment was started 10 years ago. It would be  deemed as an eyesore in an area of outstanding natural beauty - mainly for visitors at Cotehele and the one neighbour! So the sheds are in a line at the top and bottom of the plot like sheds at the seaside! Since that time the adjacent field has stopped being worked and now has mature trees and a dense growth of brambles to rival those that grew round Sleeping Beauty! No-one can see the plot and I don't even think when the leaves fall anyone could see the plot. Cotehele house can be seen but their windows are small and mostly covered to preserve the tapestries so I really don't think anyone is looking at our plot! Even if it could be seen I don't see what is more natural and beautiful than an allotment with sheds! It's going to the Directors of Tamar Grow Local to decide! There is still a waiting list for plots so I am going to give up a half plot come April. I shall have to move my strawberries, a wooden open compost "crate" and a Sweet Cicely. It was hard to find and is now a handsome specimen I would be sad to loose. However given it's long tap root it may not like being transplanted and I may looose it anyway! 
After the meeting it was back to put the coop back together! The hens were full and sleepy and were settled in groups on the plot. The new ladies still group together around their original coop! They also group by breed, so the Vorlocks were together in their dirt baths they had dug!
Home feeling worn out for an evening of Strictly - what a great day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.