A New Year, a new tradition?

It's 2013!

I haven't really celebrated New Year for quite a few years now, and this year wasn't much different, I stayed up watching TV at mum's house on my own as per usual, but I must admit to being a bit emotional when the bells rang in the New Year, realising that it very unlikely I'll be doing the same next year (not at my mum's house anyway).

Every January 1st for years it's been a tradition that we have a family meal of Steak pie. I'm not sure when this tradition started, I have vague memories of waking up on strange sofas, floors, beds, flower beds, back gardens, etc on Jan. 1st sometimes hundreds of miles from my family (e.g. Edinburgh or Poole) so it hasn't always been a tradition. But for quite a few years now the family would gather around mum's dining table for a New Years feast.

This year, of course, mum wasn't around but my brother-in-law stepped up and made a Steak & Ale pie (two actually, both with Dark Island Ale :-), which was delicious.

It's a long way to next year, we'll have to see if this becomes a new tradition or not, maybe next year I'll go to Tahiti instead?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.