Class Goodbye

Saying goodbye to my Wednesday class.

This was one of my favourite classes. I think I say that about most of my classes but this one is a little extra special. When I was given this class, I was warned that they were the worst class in the school. That their classroom behavior was atrocious and the kids knew nothing. It was supposed to be a challenge.

I had a very good co-teacher (Kathleen) and was ready for some heavy handedness. First class in, I stood at the whiteboard arms folded while the kids just talked to each other. Then i kicked a very small chair (the kind our kindergarten kids sit on) into the centre of the room and they stopped and looked. I waited a second and said, "This is my classroom. If you want to be a baby in my classroom, you can sit in the baby chair." NONE of them wanted that, so they started off pretty good and a strict regime has paid dividends. One boy in particular (Oscar) responded to the strictness I imposed on them and has changed from the worst behaved students to one who admonishes his best mate when he misbehaves in class. Very smart kid but just needed some tough love. I will miss him a lot. And the others.

As much as I love these kids, I still (after 6 months don;t know all their names so I'll edit this tomorrow with all their names.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.