Colour Confluence

Nothing more annoying than waiting ages for a bus and then two come along at the one time. It has been a bit the same of late trying to catch a Waterfoot sunrise. This winter it has been a case of famine or feast and today was a day of feast.

The sunrise nearly caught me out this morning as there was a bank of cloud over the horizon and it did not look promising. Fortunately I glanced out the window as I was going down stairs and noticed that the edge of the clouds had gone red. It was a quick dash to get the camera and catch the developing colours reflected in the flooded estuary. After all the recent grey weather it was a joy to be out on such a beautiful morning watching the colours in the clouds change as the sun climbed higher. The pinks and reds soon changed to orange and yellow as the sun started to appear and the scene over the estuary was quite different.

I had reviewed the sunrise blips and was trying to decide which shot to go with, when Mrs B asked if I wanted to go for a walk. As her walk yesterday had been constantly interrupted by me blipping, she made a condition - there was to be no camera! It was easy enough to agree as I already had my blip. However, just in case we came across something of interest I sneaked the wee compact into my jacket pocket.

After a walk along the Shore Road and over the Forestry roads we returned to the car and headed home. As I suspected, there were signs in the sky that a good sunset was developing. We headed to The Bay and weren't to be disappointed as the sky was filled with glorious colours as the sun sank over the hills of Kintyre. I was in paradise as a kaleidoscope of colours unfolded and reflected beautifully over the little stream as it entered the Bay. Almost the same spot as yesterday's blip, but what a contrast in colours. I was tempted to go with the little pool of swirling water at the edge of the sea, but decided instead on this shot as it complies with the two thirds rule for the Velux challenge.

One swallow may not make a Summer, but a good sunrise/sunset certainly lifts a blipper's spirits at this time of year.

PS - And am I glad I had the wee camera with me!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.