Leaf Experiment Setup

In response to queries about how I have been doing my recent "Leaf Experiment" series (notably from Debsdad), here we go.
As I have often pointed out previously, I do not believe in making things more complicated than they have to be. Here in this shot of my setup you will see that it is done in the living room or wherever I can find space. The leaf in question is placed on a very small lightbox (a mere 25x15cms) and photographed from above. The light from the lightbox is sufficient to backlight the leaf and roughly ONE STOP of over exposure is dialled in to augment the window light from behind the camera. The only difference would be that mostly I hand hold the camera and don't even bother with the tripod.

Now for the finishing touches. The file is brought to a normal state in Photoshop ( levels, contrast and sharpness) before being brought into Nik's Analogue Effects 2 software and processed therein as a wet plate action with whatever modifications to the preset as  might be useful. Generally I find Wet Plate No.6 to be the best starting point.

Simple! Try it yourself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.