On your bike...

This is another little treasure from home. I remember this little bike, is it a bike? Whatever it is, I remember it. I don't remember it from my childhood but I remember it coming out at Christmas when our cousins were wee. Wheeching up and down the hall on it. I like that it's been kept.

I caught the end of a program last night about women having a mid life crisis. Going on holiday alone, having tattoos done, picking up younger men, changing their lives pretty drastically. I always think of a mid life crisis as a bit of a bloke thing, you know, younger women, flash cars, hair dye, dressing too young... then I look at my wardrobe and look at my Converse and my ridiculously high heels and wonder if women are just the same only it seems more acceptable for women to totter round on pins and wear clothes that they should have grown out of. Funny how we appear to put labels on everything. Why do we need to justify things in such a way? Maybe we just figure that we're not getting any younger and the time comes to throw caution to the wind and live life instead of pottering along from day to day thinking 'is this it?'

The program made me smile. It's probably on 4OD if you feel the urge to watch it. If having a mid life crisis is what I'm doing then I'm going to embrace it and enjoy every moment! There's a quote I was looking for, I can find a version of it but I have no idea who said it...

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body. But rather, to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming... fuck me, what a ride! ~ Unknown

97 sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.