Snaps in Switzerland

By Shoemum

What an entrance!

Today I took my house guests for a trip to Antwerp for some sightseeing and a spot of lunch .
We went by train and they were impressed with the spectacular multileveled station .It really is one of the prettiest in Europe with lots of opportunities for great photos.
We went into the city via the main street ,past all my favourite shops and headed for the Grote Markt which is rather like the Grand place in Brussels.
It is a a very typical Belgian main square and the Architecture is spectacular.
The Our Lady Catholic Cathedral is also here ,apparently the largest gothic Cathedral in the low countries.It houses an art collection with Rubens and others to be seen .
We had a quick look around inside and then all around the square before we headed for Lunch .Since it is still game season I had guinea fowl and my brother in law had wild boar -all beautifully cooked and very tasty and washed down with a nice robust glass of red wine .
Soon it was time to head back to the station and whilst looking around the outside I spotted the Zoo which I hadn't noticed before .It seems strange these days to have a zoo right in the centre of a city but it opened in 1843 so I think it amazing that it has survived so long -it must be one of the oldest in Europe.We didn't have time to go in the zoo but the entrance was very pretty ,just like the train station .
We had a great day and I took lots of pictures ,my difficulty was decided on my Blip..
I finalised on the entrance to the Cathedral as it is so detailed and must have taken many many hours to create.All the individual sculptures are different and they are in great condition .The sad part could be that if you didn't look up you would never have noticed them at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.