Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I learnt something new in the greenhouse the day before yesterday (I mostly learn new things but, anyway...). Today I took my new learning to practice. This Amaryllis has been happily standing in a window since last Christmas. No water at all. Two of the leaves have withered, but the rest of the plant has ben a happy one. I'm a bit amazed... no water at all in about 10 months and it still looks like that?? Now I've learned that I can cut the leaves myself and put it somewhere dark for a month before waking it up again. I put a small brown paper bag over the bulb, and then put the whole pot on a larger paper bag, folded it and put it in a darkish placeI hope it has enough energy to make it this Christmas too. 
Otherwise it's been a calm day. Muscle ache since yesterdays' workout and tired, lacking energy. Saturdays are my rest and recover days. I need them to be so for a while longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.