The Annual Dinner

First worked at a feverish pace till late last night, right after Almelo, and went to bed at 02.40, then got up again this morning at 07.00 to finish what I really wanted to finish -- all 135 first-year marks.  Yes, they're finally done!  Enormous pressure off.

Just in time for the very last appraisal report at this university, which began on time at 11.00, an appointment I myself set as I preferred to get it done now while the Block 2 lectures haven't yet begun.  At least I was able to tell my boss that I was up-to-date with my work.  This set the really positive and even friendly tone of our conversation, and I couldn't have taken my leave in a better way.  I will be able to enjoy a last dinner with those I most enjoyed working with, AW is invited as well, and now I can focus on this final block.  No more lectures in Block 3 as I'll need all of its four weeks to check the 135 business reports required in Block 2.  As it was my free day anyway, a good colleague and friend invited me for a tea and snack downstairs and we took our time.

At 15.00, hopped into the car for yet another drive north to Apeldoorn to meet Penny for our annual dinner.  We agreed that it seems only yesterday that we were seated at our usual table.  The food was fabulous (restaurant is Michelin-certified but not Michelin-starred), as usual, and we wondered whether or not to have dessert, but you can see that we did decide to have it.  Three hours of catch-up that did us both a world of good and resulted in several laughs throughout.  Penny is fun to be with and a great example of how colleagues don't have to forget each other after one has resigned.  We will see each other again next year, and most likely I'll be visiting her town as well as I've never yet explored it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.