Kath's Journal

By Kathb

The Journey Home

We traveled home down the west coast of Scotland. Earlier in the day, I had taken part in the Ganavan Sands (Oban) Parkrun. I wasn't fully prepared for it , and completed the run in full walking gear, including thermals and heavy walking boots. Luckily one of the marshals offered to look after and carry my rucksack. It was a bit strange running in boots, but as it was very hilly it was, perhaps, not a bad idea. A tough run but very enjoyable. 

If you think that running 5k on a Saturday morning is mad, you would have been shocked to see people stripping down to tiny bits of swimwear and swimming in the sea. I wasn't one of them. Some of the other runners told me that the swimmers do it very Saturday whatever the season, whatever the weather. They say that at this time of the year the sea can be warmer than the surrounding air. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.