Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Chris Sizes Up the "Library"

OilMan is on his way back from Mississippi. I got up in the freezing pre-dawn at 5:30 to scrape the ice off their windshield and see Meg and Rick on their way. I will miss them. Our good friend Chris, the talented Oakland furniture maker, arrived to discuss the building of the library. That's him in the blip and the wall behind him is what I grandly call the library, where he will build shelves. He's taking a picture of the slanted piece of stained construction grade wood that serves as our mantlepiece, so that he can make us a real one. By the time he's finished with all that. maybe our couch will have arrived and whatever we call it, we'll find it an appealing room in which to spend time.

Peter was conjugating verbs for us last night--tenses whose names I have long since forgotten. "will have arrived..." hummm. Future perfect? Peter and Jim will be (simple future?) my dinner guests tonight. Peter wants to work on the Snoopy puzzle that has occupied him of late. I think he secretly wants to finish it before OilMan gets back. I've never seen anybody do a puzzle the way Peter does it--none of this picking out all the edge pieces first, etc. He's somehow able to look at the mass of pieces, pick out two that go together and build that way until he has a whole section done. Amazing

I was going to vacuum the house with the new brush I had to order because the old one never surfaced, but I think I'll just take a nap instead....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.