Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Paua diving off Karitane

We just got back from our Fiordland trip and I'm still buzzing from it.

One of the great things about finishing a trip in the wilderness is feeling refreshed and (hopefully) ready to tackle life again. I had all sorts of messages and an invite to go diving and snorkeling off Karitane with my mates Aleric and Gaya, both marine science friends of mine. Gaya studies paua (abalone) actually.

It was an exceptionally warm day for Dunedin. 80F + and the sun here in these southerly latitudes is intense. Still, the water is too cold without a wetsuit. We suffered on the hike down the cliffs: sweltering in our wetsuits. This must be what it feels like to be a seal we joked. Unable to escape from your own warm fat!

The cool water was a relief. And below the surface a new world came alive. Barnacles and limpits, sea lettuce and small fish, paua and periwinkles among the swishing fronds of giant bull kelp. I had trouble with my mask, water constantly seeping in forcing me to clean it out frequently in the water. Doing this some swells came and dragged me into the kelp. I was trapped unable to get out in my awkward flippers watching helplessly as another set of waves advanced. Quite dangerous, but I managed not to get my head busted open.

Needless to say we all headed to shore soon after and called it a day with a seaside picnic. Sunshine and blue skies over Karitane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.