Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Celebrating New Life

I’ve been home for a few days now but after my big adventure last week life has been mundane with lots of laundry and bad weather and decluttering so there have been almost no photos!

Today, however, it was time to party!! My older nephew Jon and his wife Laura are having their first baby next month and so I was at my sister’s for Laura’s baby shower. It was a lot of fun - family members and a small group of her friends. We had the party in a new part of my sister’s house - what had been mostly used as a large storage room for the last 25 years and has now been finished and extended to become a beautiful part of the house. Today’s party was the first time it’s been used.

We had a big ‘grazing platter’ of food to enjoy (isn’t it beautiful?), followed by a selection of home-made cakes and afternoon tea. The cake in the picture isn’t a real cake! Look closely and you’ll see it’s made of nappies/diapers! So clever!

We all brought baby pictures of ourselves and Laura had to guess who was who. Mine is the one on the far right.

My sister’s two granddaughters were also invited and there was another baby there too. Aneeta enjoyed holding the baby and I’m sure practicing for the arrival of her very first cousin! Not only that but we also found out on the same day that my sister’s youngest son Tim and his wife Kay are now also expecting - so there will be ANOTHER baby next May! A day of celebrating new life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.