Larch in Winter

A late afternoon walk around the farm with friends Lisa and Annabel, they are sharing a few ideas with me on redesigning my garden. I would like the vegetable growing area to be smaller as I no longer need to produce as much food as in the past.
These larch trees were some of the first trees planted on the land, I think they are around 17 years old now, this old photo is of Rachel when she was younger, standing by the same trees which have established well here. initially the brambles would have been cut away to prevent smothering but as the trees grew there canopy would help to shade them out. woodland flora like wood anenomes, bluebells and wood sorrel just appeared, I guess their seeds would have lain dormant in the earth waiting for the right conditions to flower again, this has always amazed me and I have wondered just how long the seeds could have remained viable.
My first daffodil was flowering today and there are crocuses out, spring is on the way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.