Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

The Hobbit House

When I got up this morning the water supply was off again. This happens about six times a year when the Victorian mains supply pipe in the next town, springs a leak. 
There were several weeks of disruption back in the summer, when major refurbishment of the mains was carried out. Clearly the problems persist :-(

Ironically, there is plenty of water in the weather forecast again today so I headed out with the dogs on an extended route, making the most of the brief dry spell.

We walked down through the aptly named "Muddy Bottom", an old drovers route through the woods.
The tarmac road only goes as far as the Old Mill and then it was a struggle to stay upright through all the deep puddles and troughs of mud.
The dogs loved it and Cas has managed the 3 mile round trip. 

Years ago I used to ride a friend's pony along this route. I didn't live in the village then but used to love visiting. I used to go off on the pony with only the friend's lab for company. I was still at primary school and about 9 years old and now often reflect on those adventures when I felt a true pioneer, venturing several miles from base.
It's sad that kids these days, aren't allowed the freedom that I enjoyed back then. 

Anyway, back then in the good ol' days, the mill was virtually derelict and I used to get a bit anxious passing it. Both the pony and the dog gave me the courage to go on :-D)

This morning, smoke was swirling around the valley and the mill's little outhouse, nicknamed the Hobbit House, looked like it was straight out of a children's fairy tale.

My blip shows this timeless scene, evoking so many happy childhood memories for me

There were limits to my adventures. I did not go as far in the other direction out of the village, as the gypsies who lived at the top of the hill, kept a bear in a cage. A real deterrent for a nine year old. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.