Picture Consequences

By consequences

A new day

That night, I had no dreams.

To be more accurate, I had no dreams I could remember. In the dead of night, I may well have turned up for my exams naked, had a tea party with some chimps or wept as all my teeth fall out.

I may even have re-run my conversation with Janice in some unknown language, perhaps perched on a cliff-top. But if I did, I remembered nothing of it.

I'm sure I've read somewhere that we all dream every night - it's just that most people only remember a few of their dreams. I've no idea if that's true or not, and I honestly couldn't care less.

Throughout most of my life, I've thought of dreams as jumbled nonsense, a re-hashing of the day's events, no more significant than that. Of course, lately things had been very different, but until then, dreams hadn't mattered much to me at all.

What mattered to today me was waking up feeling refreshed for the first time in too long.



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.