Wild Turkeys Galore!! (Meleagris gallopavo)

On our way to the show we had a show-stopper!! About thirty wild turkeys were wandering right next to the road...so they had to be the stars today!! They are wonderful huge birds, and I thought I saw only females today...hopefully one day I'll catch the tom with his tail spread!!

These aren't the kind of turkeys you have for dinner, although the record-sized adult male Wild Turkey, according to the National Wild Turkey Federation, weighed 16.85 kg (37.1 lb). He would have been quite a meal!

And some of the turkeys I saw may have been males, thank you to Debbi for sharing that, I didn't realize they look similar for part of the year!!

As for the movie...today we saw "Promised Land". It was very thought provoking, concerning the consequences of how we use the earth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.