ExBeeb

By Exbeeb

Cannelés de Bordeaux

My sister and brother-in-law from Bordeaux gave us some silicon moulds a couple of years ago. L had a go a couple of times using their recipe, but it seemed to use a whole hen house of eggs.

Today I thought I'd try an internet version of them which only used 4 eggs. Apart from forgetting to flavour them with the rum, they tasted just like the real thing.

I say the real thing, which to me are the ones that relatives make in France, but you can buy some incredible looking ones in some expensive shops in the middle of Bordeaux which cost upwards of £20 for just a few. I have never tried the expensive ones, but hopefully they taste something like these.

The traditional method involves lining the moulds with beeswax, so probably another reason to use this recipe! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.