Women’s right to vote

I created this to celebrate the 100th anniversary (next year) of the 19th amendment to the US giving women the right to vote. I’m still in NY so I only have what I took to Vietnam, ie. no trigger, only on-camera flash but I think it turned out really well. Karen’s mom was an excellent sport. 

She taught university chemistry before she retired. When she was job hunting one school told her that when her pregnancy showed she’d have to stop teaching. Another did not hire women as professors. Still another did not want women in the science department. Fortunately Manhattenville hired her even though she was pregnant and Jewish (another justification for discrimination at the time). 

Merging the picture of the light writing with the picture of her was extremely easy. It was all easy, but I had gone out a couple of days ago to check out what flash settings I needed and realized then that I needed my widest lens to have room for the arm to extend with a wand and then fit the word in. It is good, because today was cold and it would not have been fun to mess with this while we both were freezing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.