Hedgehog Hotel & Kestrel Nesting Box

As I let Elvis out for his nighttime ‘comfort break’, I was surprised to see a hedgehog walking across the lawn. Elvis was oblivious, but it prompted me to get on with the little house I had planned. As we are already into hibernation time for hedgehogs, no time was to be lost. Here it is, in place at the back of the garden before it was covered up by sticks, leaves, and generally well hidden apart from its opening. We will see whether it is used.  It will certainly be safer than the pile of wood and garden waste waiting to be burned. Will have to thoroughly check that before lighting it to make sure no-one has moved in! The additional pic was the result of my sudden burst of creative energy and is a Kestrel nesting box. I plan to get it into the tall pine tree in the garden, as high as I can go. It needs to face East, apparently, with some straw or wood shavings inside to attract occupants. I have no idea whether it will work, or, if it does, whether the arrival of a hungry predator in the neighbourhood will scare off any of the other nesting birds we have around.   We also have quite a few Hobbys in the area, so we may yet be surprised with what happens in Spring. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.