The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

A Lady Who Lunches

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

The Explorer called me yesterday: there had been a call off at her table at a CHAS (Children’s Hospices Across Scotland) charity high tea at Prestonfield House and she wondered if I would like to go.

It’s a given that this is very far out of my comfort zone and but I haven’t seen much of The Explorer recently so I put on my big girl pants, donned a posh frock and heels and off I went.

Overall it was great fun. I knew most of the people at my table and there was lots of wine, giggles and dancing. It was also an emotional roller coaster: Michelle McManus was hilarious as the host and had the room howling with laughter, but then she introduced a couple who spoke about the loss of their child and the amazing way the charity had supported them. There wasn’t a dry eye in the room as everyone listened in sadness at their pain and awe of their bravery in choosing to share that pain.

I am glad I went. It’s a different world than the one I usually inhabit but I had a lovely time visiting and having a long overdue catch-up.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.