First...

things first..... I have taken camera photos today and I am posting them in the extras as proof. And because they are cute. And because it’s possible they may be some of my camera’s last shots. I think I killed it today. I am mortified. I managed to shoot the shots I wanted- old school style, setting based on my knowledge, metering and composing carefully and going away confident in my ability to put the right shot in camera .... (the screen is dead, the camera is doing intermittently ok) and I had indeed about “got the shot”.

But anyway.... today didn’t start well. We had an awful night after some middle of the night confusion whereby Katie woke me while I was very, very deep asleep and I apparently told her it was morning and suggested she go do her stretches. It was NOT morning, to say the least. And took several hours to get her back off.

Yes, today she was a tired girl. And I was a tired mama.

That said, we started the day with a FaceTime to India (B has relocated in the course of yesterday) during which time Katie shared the opening of her advent with B. We managed BassoonBreakfast and to still make it to YYM in time. She had a piano lesson, then played a solo on bassoon in their concert. We packed up and left, made a quick stop at Krispy Kreme before delivering her to a day of concert rehearsals.

Tonight, she had her first public performance with the county senior wind band. With Ferdy of course. I was stunned at how beautiful her gorgeous new instrument sounded. She opened one piece, closed another and had standout moments in others and it really was a lovely sound. She played with a lot of joy and confidence tonight. Also, she loved having her bassoon in a cradle for the concert. The music service have just bought them. Because she was moving between seniors/bassoon and inters/clarinet, they suggested she use one. To her delight. Her intermediate conductor is a bassoonist. During seniors rehearsals, before the other inters had arrived, apparently she was helping Katie move her stuff round etc and said how lovely Ferdy is. And commented after how beautifully she played/he sounded.

We stopped at WokToGo on the way home as she was ready to eat her own arm and couldn’t wait a second longer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.