John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

26,539 days

Today I have lived for 26,539 days.

It all started with a conversation with one of my ex-East Lothian parishioners - who happens to be one of the leading financial gurus in Scotland.  He was telling me that he had just made a corporate video.  I went to look, and in it he said that one of his ambitions was to outlive his "dear old Dad."

That got me thinking, and with the help of a useful App, I calculated that my "dear old Dad" lived for 26,539 days till the day he died.    Back to the App, and I discovered that today I have lived the same number of days as he.

I could make many comments about that very special man.   One general point, though, is that in spite of a few medical bits and pieces, I am much more fit at this point than he was.  A combination of better medication and healthier life style I suppose.   A major factor bringing about his death was his life-long smoking.

He died in August 1993.   I miss him still.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.