Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

First mince pies

A busy day of successes! We had five visitors, six including Pretzel. It started early, with Dave coming to replace the shower thermostat (never got quite hot enough), the electrician came to check to the underfloor heating thermostat, and a very lovely man who sorted a stain we thought was unfixable. JR had used an ordinary anti-mould spray on the rubber of the shower door, which drained over the shower tray and left a brown stain on our very lovely, very sensitive and very expensive tray. He tried three different things, and was here all morning, but it's sorted. We both hugged him.

Jordan came and took Archie out for a big long walk, then joined us for a mince pie afterwards. Mary came for a cuppa and a mince pie after her gym session (where she gets individual attention from the staff) and Pretzel was straight in, making friends. Archie is very stand-offish with new folk...

In between times, I popped down to the local physio person and got an appointment for later. And she was GREAT! She explained everything, and gave me a very thorough massage. She said that I need to do exercises to strengthen my back muscles and glutes - no use just popping my back in every month or so. She has two dogs with her in her office. And she's an Aussie. All good. 

On the way down I passed the usual person sitting begging outside the Co-op. But this time he was sweeping the gutter and tidying up the litter around him! So on the way back I brought him into the shop and he chose a bacon bap and a huge bottle of Irn Bru. Not my choices, but he was very happy. He kissed my hand. 

What a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.