Crackers

It is strange how suddenly (well maybe gradually) we find ourselves looking at things we have just taken for granted and assessing whether they are 'good' or 'bad' environmentally.

Crackers - a part of Christmas traditions, but now deemed to be 'bad'. I have always considered them as poor value for money and have never bought them at full price, either buying at the last minute, or after Christmas for the following year, when prices are much lower. Some years I have made them myself, when at least the gifts can be worthwhile. But now one has to think of them in terms of waste - treated paper, plastic etc. cannot be recycled. 

So what to do? I have discovered there are alternatives, but too late for this year. I am the one with the task of providing crackers for Christmas lunch, so I thought - the boxes are already in the shops and will be destroyed if they are not bought and Sainsbury's were very much reduced in price . . . 

. . . so I bought a box. Next year I will think about it more carefully. I(And the box doesn't have a plastic window so that's something!!) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.