Wonderlust

By wonderlust

Blurry Berry, Anyone?

I know that the world's greatest chefs shun on buying produce out of season, but I just couldn't help myself. Strawberries are the best fruit on the planet and "in season" in Wisconsin is 2 weeks in late June or early July. Soooo I spent $2.50 on a quart of California strawberries. I'll admit they are lackluster in comparison to Wisconsin berries which are literally a different breed than carried in the local grocery store, but a taste of strawberry is better than none at all.

Quick Strawberry Factoids:
-Strawberries contain more Vitamin C than oranges
-Strawberries are a member of the rose family (See, I was right about the superiorness of strawberries)
-Strawberries are the only fruit with seeds on the outside of which each seed is considered its own fruit and each strawberry contains on average 200 seeds thus when you think you are only eating a single berry you are actually consuming, on average, 201 berries

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.