Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Fly

I was photographing flowers this morning in the garden, and the insects were incidental (several different flies, bees and a wasp). Even though I'm an entomologist, I rarely photograph insects from choice. I am not really interested in studio images, and out of doors most of the more unusual insects (which tend to be the smaller, less conspicuous species) are difficult to photograph.

For flower photographers, insects can be a nuisance. Thrips can look like specks of dirt, caterpillars and some beetle larvae chew hunks out of the petals, or bite off the stamens. Mining and sucking insects leave unsightly marks on leaves and flowers. As an entomologist I find these signs of activity useful and interesting, but as a photographer they are definitely less than desirable!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.