Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Desperate Times!

I think this image tells a lot about what's been going on in the Blue Mountains today.  Horrendously hot day 39 degrees here and even hotter in Beckett's neck of the woods and to top it off there was a strong westerly blowing.  It created havoc in Blackheath and many people were evacuated in the early afternoon.  There have been houses lost to the fire in Lithgow today.  There are many very old miners cottage on the outskirts of the town and I think they would mainly be wooden construction.  It's a day we are happy to put behind us.

Tomorrow it's going to be a lot cooler - prediction is 21 degrees.  that's almost half of what we experienced today.  Thank you to all of my blip buddies for your good wishes.  I know some of you have been through an experience like this and believe me it's not fun.  Very tense times indeed.  I console myself by being able to keep the water bowls topped up for the wildlife.  They really are desperate times!!  Let's hope tomorrow there is a turnaround and the firies get a bit of a reprieve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.