gravy days

By gravyc

To run or not to run

I'm often here on a Saturday evening in winter. I drop off my step-son at his father's in Eastbourne.
In the summer I usually run on the Downs, in the winter I run along the seafront in the darkness. 
Occasionally, the weather is less than ideal. This evening I'd just about talked myself out of it. The view is from my car seat, the patterns on the windscreen a clue to the conditions. The blackness is the sea.
I sat there for a while and then very nearly drove home. 

It was about as unpleasant as I was expecting. The rain felt like needles hitting my face. But, as is usually the case, the end result was better than it would have been had I not done it.
After 25 years I've yet to disprove the idea that you never regret going for a run. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.