trekmum

By trekmum

Aunt Margaret

I visited my cousin Chrissie today. She is 89 years old, so my ‘big’ cousin - as all my cousins on my dads side were, as he was the youngest in a large family and I was a late baby. I have had some really special conversations with her over the last few months as she fills me in with details about our family history and what her life was like growing up. Her dad, an uncle of mine I never knew , died in a roof fall in a coal pit, when she was a teenager. She’s been able to answer loads of questions I had about my own dad and other family members and provide me with lots of old photographs. This is my Aunt Margaret, my dad’s brother George’s wife. I remember her as a strong minded, independent woman. She always seemed very fashionable, dressed like a film star and taught country dancing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.