Toots in Solitude

By Toots

Chimney Stack No 3

Today I had an errand to run in Edinburgh and got a lift in with Donald, who has my car for a few days.
The errand was in Dalry and so I decided to locate an industrial chimney that I've seen so often from Dalry Road.
Wow. I was so totally impressed and overwhelmed. It is the most beautiful chimney and is powerfully big.
A young chap wandered by on his way to his flat right next to it. He saw me with my camera, looked up, and said, "Oh, it's really tall, isn't it" as if he'd never really noticed it before.
I have been swithering here for hours wondering whether to use an 'up close and personal' shot which takes the eye far up and out into space, or whether to place it in it's setting. I suppose with my rubbish photography it doesn't matter in the end though.

Another thing I seem to be rubbish at is trying to investigate things on google, so I have no idea of it's history although I presume it was part of a distillery once. The point for me, I suppose is, that I see them as such beautiful pieces of art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.