Cumbrialass

By Cumbrialass

Christmas Eve.. looking at the fuchsia!

The rain stopped.. finally and I took Fletch for a walk along Channelside while M hoovered . It wasnt too cold but there were few people about.. probably doing "last minute before Christmas" activities. 

Tesco carpark didnt look too busy so took the opportunity to buy a few things to save going at the end of the week and even managed to order the special bread for New Year.

Back home I decided to cut back the leaves on the ladies mantle which were brown and covering over the bluebell shoots.  Something has been eating the shoots and I suspected slugs but discovered several  caterpillars which I wasnt expecting. I liberated them to the opposite end of the garden because they may survive winter but not at the expense of my primula ( or is the plural primula?) which have flowered and flowered all year despite being eaten by slugs (and caterpillars!)
The small fuchsia in the pot is still flowering too. Not very tiny but it's my tiny Tuesday photo. I was going to post my primula
photo but accidentally deleted it so the fuchsia won.. just been out in the dark and managed one of the primula.. it deserves a photo for still flowering. ( extra)

Today is my brother's birthday.  He always felt he missed out as presents tended to be "combined xmas and birthday.. " often true but he got a better deal than me as my birthday is the 27th . At least on the 24th everyone is fresh and just getting into the Christmas jollity stage whereas by the 27th everyone is a bit tired and jaded and hungover. 

As usual our Christmas Day will be quiet , but as long as its dry we will enjoy a nice long walk with Fletch  followed by a mostly traditional dinner .. as long as I remember to take the turkey crown out of the freezer.. perhaps better do that now.
Wherever you are whatever you do I wish your Christmas day is filled with good memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.