Cygnus

By Cygnus

Bargain hunting

I’m not one for the Boxing Day sales, but No1 peanut was without her usual bargain-hunting partner (my sister-in-law). At home in N Ireland they are up and out for the 5am opening of Next and then have a leisurely breakfast before appearing home around 8 am, laden down with ‘bargains’.

For this, our first Christmas in Liverpool, the Veep, the Ards Man and I had to adopt the mantle of bargain-hunting associates (when we’d rather have stayed in bed another hour, at least, I certainly would have) and accompany the peanut to Chester.

It was more fun than anticipated! The shops weren’t too busy and most of us found a bargain. The peanut found four or five and the Veep only bought a newspaper, but we all came away satisfied with our purchases.

I tried to persuade the Ards Man to buy a fancy shirt (one that is not white) but he was having none of it. We’re now back at the peanut’s house enjoying a cup of tea.

The photo is of a very nice star in the grounds of Chester Cathedral. I take no responsibility for the garish signs included underneath - I tried to cut them out but it removed too much of the lower part of the star.

A grand day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.