Appreciate

By Appreciate

Too excited

Well I was all over the place tonight - Tesco Tom delivering, new spinning wheel all made up by the best jani ever and all ready to go, a possible offer on my house (squeak of utter delight).

Have to sleep on house offer as it is less than my big price drop...

Took an hour to thread the wheel - not the flyer I was taught with but I eventually worked it out! I had the bobbin round the wrong way, the brake string too loose and the scotch string (thing) on the wrong notch - I think. Anyway I got the leader going, had all my drafted Shetland humbug ready to go - which I quite like now that it's out the bag. Mostly I enjoyed the drafting - lovely to feel that fibre going through my hands. BUT I need my pals for the next bit. I spun that leader til it was strangled and only got a tiny bit of fibre onto the bobbin...clumpy and stuck. It is draped over the maiden if you look - looks very thick but it's as thin as I could draft it without it snapping.

Still I had fun and have to give up as I need to go and brood on my offer!

This will be typical if I have to shelve my new found hobby in favour of packing boxes - still it will be temporary.

I love the colour of the wheel - and it goes well with house contents - wherever that might now be! It will naturally distress which will look great. Only rude names springing to mind this evening so I'll need to get to know her better - it is a she!! Too smooth, quiet and pretty for a he.

Still very snowy and hard, hard frost. Had to use my last year's stash of salt and grit to get from the car port into the house!!

Aaaaah - exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.