Neglect!

My forks have failed on me and its entirely down to my own neglect of them.

The rest of the bike is so maintenance free and forgiving of mud and bad conditions that I haven't treated the forks as well as I should have, consequently they have let me down. Lots of stiction resulting in very little small bump travel. They're OEM specced forks and fairly low end SRSuntour offerings at that, hence the early failure due to my lack of care for them. However, having said that the manual reckons they need a full service every 100 hours, which given the amount I use the bike is not feasible. That would work out to be four times a year.

Problem is that the bike is in use pretty much every day so to send them off for a service means the bike's out of action. Seriously considering buying a second pair so I can use one/service one. Or, get something much more 'home' serviceable, like Fox. Problem is that, as it's an Ebike the requirements are quite specific. Tapered steerer, 180mm disks, bolt through quick release axle, mudguard braze ons and the big 'gotcha' is 70/80mm of travel. I don't want longer travel or I'll upset the geometry, which is quite nice as it stands. 

Quite the dilemma for a bike geek!

And, if you've got this far well done...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.