Beewriter

By Beewriter

Gaddings Dam

Pat and I went on a little jaunt today, to Gaddings Dam. It is 335m above sea level and is known as the highest beach in the UK. On trip advisor it said there was a short steep climb up to it. Short!!! The sign post from the car park stated a forty minute walk....I’m a bit unfit at the moment and I didn’t take my walking boots so I was completely unprepared for the uphill hike on a very muddy and slippy path.

It was blowing a hooley and the wind made it feel really cold, but the views were fantastic. I’d gone up to take a dip and there was no turning back. Pat took her shoes and socks off and ran in then out, which is more than I thought she would do lol. I braved the cold and went in. I loved it when a well wrapped up group of hikers came by and were incredulous when they realised I had been in for a swim.

I have achy legs now, but we had a great sense of achievement. I’ll go again sometime. Now we need to plan our next little adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.