ABOUT TO BURST

I spent five hours today at UK Biobank in Newcastle, being scanned, measured and tested, and by the time I came out to set off home the weather was dreadful and I wasn't inclined to go blip-hunting, so here's a shoot from my already-blossoming amaryllis. It's leaning against the mirror over the mantelpiece and I fully expect it to overbalance under the weight of the new flowers sometime tomorrow, despite my precautions.

This is the second time that UK Biobank have asked me to go for scans. I guess they want some for comparison. They don't give you any details of your own scanning results, and the data is not for diagnostic purposes though if they happen to spot anything untoward they will contact your GP. All I came out with was a basic set of stats, BP (good), lung function (good), body fat percentage, waist & BMI (not so good), a heart monitor which I have to wear for the next two weeks, and an aching back from lying flat for so long in the scanners trying not to think about my nose itching. Never mind - it's just a morning of my time and if it helps anyone that's fine, especially now that I can't give blood any more. (And - yay! - there were custard creams on offer afterwards!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.