DancingAly

By DancingAly

Teds in the Bed

I'd been meaning to borrow this puzzle from school for Lou to have a go with. She was quite pleased with it, although she just uses them for pretend play ;-) 

This week has been a marathon! The wild, wet and windy weather has been a downer, plus too many things going on. Yesterday I had a follow up ENT appointment at the hospital, but predictably it was hard to get away from school and I ended up only just making it.... Only to find that the board said he was running an HOUR late! I waited for about thirty minutes and then I left. I know it wasn't a very good thing to do, but all I could thing was how unreasonable it was to make people wait for so long! How could they be that delayed when it was only 11am?!

Another lunch where I ate soup in two halves- finished the second bit at 2:30pm when I came out of a meeting and noticed it was still where I'd left it on the kitchenette side!

A meeting after school meant getting ready to go back out to college had to be quick, which meant I literally was flushed in the face from trying to get everything done before heading out.

Again, I got there early and sat in the car while I gathered my courage, but I went in and sat down with my friends. I felt more able to do the check-in, and felt immediately relieved when I'd done it. We had an assignment q and a at the beginning, but there are a few people who dominate and seem so confused by it all that it's hard to sit there and listen as it only makes those of us that weren't confused in the first place very confused!

We had some time to do research, and then we came back to do our simulated supervision group. I left my work on the table when we went to the library, but when I got back I realised someone had obviously picked it up by accident, but they had the notes I needed. I had to tell my tutor that I didn't have my notes, but luckily my memory is a strength, and I just had to wing it. And do you know what, I did great! My philosophy with school has always been, if you spend six hours a day with a child for 39 weeks of the year, if you can't talk about them without having made a set of notes before, it doesn't say much about you as a teacher (in my view). 

With the supervision done, where I did talk about some of my 'stuff', we had to check out, and it was good that I found it easy to talk. Actually, the tutor kindly asked if anyone had picked up my stuff, and we had a chuckle about it in a group (nothing with this assignment has gone right for me!). I came home feeling pretty euphoric, and said to my mum "I speaked mama, I speaked!" (Reference to the past tense struggles the four year olds in my class say- sawed, hearded, goed..... you get the idea!).

After I had a bath and a bit of wind down time, I looked at my feedback sheet and I had some nice comments. I think/hope that my tutor can see that I'm trying my best, and I will do whatever it takes to succeed here. 

I did read my tutorial record that I got back too, which did say that she had some concerns about my self-awareness and my avoidance of tricky things (that we'd already discussed), but I was thinking about it and I think it's not my self-awareness that's difficult, it's communicating that to others. 

Don't give up, keep going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.