Action Time Vision

By ATV

Never Mind HMV Here's Boo

I'm starting to think this affinity with HMV is an age thing because I can not understand it.

I never considered HMV as a record shop and it played absolutely no part in my musical tastes or education.

Record shops were places like Listen in Glasgow, Bruce's in Stirling, Picadilly in Manchester, Rough Trade in London - these were, in some cases still are, record shops.

Avalanche in Edinburgh.

HMV never smelled like a record shop either.

I remember asking in the Falkirk branch of HMV for one of the Arab Strap albums when it came out only to be met with a blank stare.

It's a brave new world. Make the most of it.

Go into a record shop go up to the counter and ask for something new and exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.