Ennastrebor

By Ennastrebor

Milestone

I have walked past this milestone many times as I walk a little dog for a charity. It is on the A243 a short distance from Surbiton. Today I stopped to try and read the inscription. On the top of it I just made out the words Royal Exchange 15 miles. My curiosity made me Google other milestones in the County and one or two also referred to the Royal Exchange. According to Wikipedia, the Royal Exchange was founded to act as a centre of commerce for the City of London. The original building was destroyed in the Great Fire of London. A second complex also burned down and the third building which still stands, was designed on the original layout where merchants could trade. Amazing to think how far traders back then took their goods to trade/sell. The extra shows distance to a couple of other local towns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.