Farewell childhood

A double meaning to the title tonight.

The attic clear out means that our children’s large toys are destined for the recycling centre. Given previous blips I hope they will add them to their menagerie.

But also, as our departure from the EU looms, I fell a deep sense of loss as our legal ties with Europe are being severed.

While in my childhood we were not part of the European Economic Community, we as a family travelled across Europe camping and enjoying the diverse experiences. My father fought in the war to preserve Europe, but, as with my parents in law, had also honeymooned there in the early1950s.

I sincerely hope that our cultural and economic ties will remain close and flourish. But I still feel a loss: a bit like in His Dark Materials, a person being severed from his or her daemon.

All the encouraging words about “moving forward” and a “bright new future” do not begin to equate to that sense of loss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.