Photogen

By Photogen

Revisiting the Chrysanths

Eleven days ago I photographed this bunch of flowers and posted the resulting image on the 9th. Since then I have kept them in the conservatory where I can enjoy them on a window ledge on the other side of the glazed door from our lounge. This has been kept firmly shut as we do not attempt to heat it out there. Amazingly, the blooms are almost as perfect as they were when I got them. This shows that temperature is everything in the preservation stakes, and not just when it comes to food!
I got some good feedback from Blippers on the 18th about my fruit study, with the window as part of the composition, so I photographed the flowers from directly above and angled the shot to incorporate the red tiled patio through the glass as well as picking up some reflections. I used the widest angle on my 12-60mm lens , bracing the camera with the neck strap for an exposure of 1/40th sec at f/5.6 (ISO 400). It's a gloomy afternoon and thus the lighting is flat. This contrasts with the shots on the 9th and the 18th when the conservatory was flooded with winter sun. However, I think this is also a pleasing composition with some interesting diagonals, and it's something white that's not snow! I think you might agree there's rather a lot of the white stuff in Blipfoto uploads at the moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.