JVM my life

By JulieVMac

Hagia Sophia Istanbul

Started life as a Greek Orthodox Cathedral, then became an Ottoman Mosque but still retained many of the original features of the original cathedral and is now a museum. I loved this place, it was huge and felt so old, standing in the upper circle looking down you got a real feel for the expanse. Cats seemed to love the building too.

We started at the Blue Mosque, which was impressive in its own way, huge marble columns supporting the structure, although I didn’t get a sense of blue. However, I remember many years ago when I was really into my istock photography seeing an amazing HD picture of the Blue Mosque and the colours just popped out. It was yet another reason as to why I wanted to visit Istanbul.

Early evening met up with Steve and his wife for a meal in the restaurant we ate in on the first night

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.