Esztergom Basilica

A daylight blip just to prove I'm not a vampire :-)

Many thanks once more for all your wonderful comments, stars and hearts for yesterdays blip, it hit the Spotlight again and it still feels very special :-)

I wanted to get out of Budapest and show you all another part of Hungary, so I headed to Esztergom, which is on the side of the Danube in the North right on the border with Slovakia.

This is Esztergom Basilica built in 1822, follow the link for more information. It's the biggest building in Hungary and the 18th largest church in the world. It's full title is The Primatial Basilica of the Blessed Virgin Mary Assumed Into Heaven and St Adalbert. And is the mother church of the Archdiocese of Esztergom-Budapest, and the seat of the Catholic Church in Hungary. It is dedicated to the Saint Mary of the Assumption and Saint Adalbert.

The weather was cold -10 and snowy but the roads were drivable, not surprisingly as the wind was pushing the temp down further, I had the Basilica to myself, well the outside anyway, the actual Basilica was closed, it sits looking over Esztergom.

The colours of today seem to be grey and white, there's been lots of mist and low cloud, I was going to go for a snow shot but there are so many better ones on Blip a the moment.

I had lunch and got warm again in the excellent Prímás Pince famous for it's wines, if you ever visit I'll recommend this place under the Basilica.

Large basilica

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.