Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Tudors and Stuarts

Many blippers will have seen and followed the excellent and fascinating journal by LornaL showing the drawings and diaries of a brilliant young lady in the 1930's onwards.  Well, today I was clearing out an old cupboard and came across some old school items of mine which my mother must have kept, so I thought I would show part of one here.  I have to confess that both artistically and intellectually they are probably a little short of Lorna's offering but they have a certain interest.  For instance in this book that I wrote and illustrated about the Tudors and Stuarts, I seem to have done a fairly graphic illustration of Bear Baiting.  Now, I may be wrong, but I don't recall much Bear Baiting going on in Middlesbrough when I was a child so I doubt that was drawn from life experience.

On the next page the teacher commented that I had not put enough into the book and had not written enough to explain what was going on.  I suspect that was because I found school history a tedious and boring subject; all those Kings, Queens, battles and dates.  I never really got interested in history until it dawned on me that events in the 20th Century were 'history' too, and ones to which I could relate and had much more interest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.