Transitoire

By Transitoire

Mairie

After the rather evening of drinks followed by staying up chatting until around 3am...needless to say, Lizi and I didn't actually get up until about 10am! There was pretty much no food in my fridge (+ Sunday + no shops open =) so we decided to go out for lunch in Caen. So by the time we arrived in Caen we were pretty hungry to say the least...and to our dismay, Dolly's was jam packed with people and no spaces for around 2 hours! It being France as well, not every restaurant decides to open on a Sunday, so I had to rack my brains for somewhere else to go. Luckily I dredged from some deep part of the back of my memory that the Galleterie was open on Sundays so we decided to go there. Every time I now go in there I cannot help but have a Salidou, which is a pancake with salted caramel on it...amazing.

I then took Lizi to see the sights of the large buildings of Caen, including the stunning Mairie (town hall), and "the bombed out church", which reminded us both very much of its Liverpudlian counterpart. As you can see from the picture, our Mairie is hu-uge! It is also very beautiful, and built from Normandy Stone (for those interested: it is the creamy coloured stone that the majority of buildings in the centre-ville are made out of). From there we had to dash back to the Saint-Pierre to get the tram to Lux (the cinema) to meet everyone to go see the film. The film we saw was Django Unchained, the new Quentin Tarantino film...and it was a lot more popular than I thought it was going to be. The entire theatre was full, there wasn't an empty seat. Luckily I bought a ticket for Thibaud, and the girls saved us a seat. And luckily for Thomas, there was a sole empty seat next to Lizi. Unfortunately, not so lucky for the others...they had to attempt to find seats in a dark theatre! I didn't envy them at all!

Film: now I actually thought it was rather good! I would definitely watch it again, even though it was very violent, and Thibaud (being a French man and all) laughed at me every time I hid my eyes from the screen. Some of the bits were just too much for me to watch! However, plausible story, brilliant actors, comedic moments, and of course the inevitable shoot-outs that you get in a Western. Well worth going to see actually.

Following on from the film we all went to Les Touristes for a drink, catch-up, and synopsis of the film. Surprisingly, not all the girls thought there was too much violence, and not all the guys thought that the amount of violence was acceptable. Just goes to show the differences in character and opinion! I also found out what happened in the bits where I had my head buried in the nearest shoulder/my hands/my knee...and to be completely honest, I was glad I didn't see those bits!

Lovely, lovely, lovely day...great people, great food, great entertainment. Couldn't ask for more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.