JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Blackbird

I rather enjoy the snow, but I realise it is a big nuisance for a lot of people and potentially disastrous for wildlife. We have been doing our best to help the garden birds through this cold spell.

They have been chomping their way through vast quantities of seed, nuts and suet pellets. It has been lovely to see so many of them returning each day. It is particularly the blackbirds that I worry about with a thick ground cover of snow depriving them of the earthworms that they normally rely on. I have made a big effort to ensure there are always some suet pellets for them on the feeder tray.

At one point today I counted seven male blackbirds in the garden at once. This guy was sitting outside the kitchen window peering at me as if to tell me that the tray was empty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.