Life with Alice

By elirin

The Naming of Friends

I’ve thought long and hard about good names for my two new friends that I got for my birthday. 

The koala has patches on him, and since we like koalas, we’ve been following the situation for them in Australia, and mum has donated money to a rescue organisation. So we know there was a koala named Lewis who was first rescued from the fires, but later sadly died. I’ve decided to name my koala Lewis as a tribute to all koalas who have died or suffered because of the fires recently. Also, my best friend forever Dolly had a bear called Lewis, whom I’ve met and still WhatsApp with. From time to time.

The cheetah was trickier, because I wasn’t sure at first if it was a boy or a girl. It turns out he is a boy, so I’m naming him Onyx. It’s the second half of his Latin name, Acinonyx, but also a black gemstone, which is fitting because of his spots.

New rocks jumped: 25 Total: 98 Top rock: 1 metre 50 centimetres 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.