Today's Memories

By Pxas

Saturday

What a day!

1. Had fun with family.
2. Had to go to emergency room.
3. Celebrated my birthday early with my friends.

1.  I stayed at my Mom's yesterday and today we (Mom and I) went to my sister's where we would stay for the remaining days of my stay in NY.  We had an early dinner with some wine.  We sang and danced and reminisced about the good old days.

2.  My sister's husband joined us.  At some point, he left the table.  Don't ask me why I followed him.  Anyway, I saw him at the top of the stairs struggling with breathing.  I went up to help him.  I wanted him to take his time.  Keep in mind he is asthmatic.  He only had one step to go up.  He gathered some strength and I thought he would move forward one last step.  I was totally wrong.  Instead of going forward, he was falling back.  He is a quite large/heavy man and I was standing behind him.  I don't know what came over me.  The adrenaline kicked in and while holding the railing, I grabbed the back of his T-shirt and held him with the only strength I had.  My leg supporting his back.  I remember yelling my lungs out for help at which time my sister showed up.  She and I were able to drag him down the stairs......
He was unconscious.  I rubbed his breast ribs at which time he showed some alertness.  We called 911.  It felt like forever before anyone showed up but in reality, the firetruck, police, and ambulance were here in less than 5 min.
We went to the emergency room only to see him attached to the tubes.  We were assured that he's being well taken care of and that we cannot do anything at this time.  After 2 hours, we decided to go home.

3.  My friend who I asked to originally pick me up was with us and he drove my sister home.  I stayed in the car and went with him to a get together that my best friend organized.  

I needed that so much.  We celebrated my two friends' birthdays and mine. Until wee hours into the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.